Shopify image limit 20 MB / 25 MP vs GPT Image custom sizes on Sume
Shopify caps images at 20 MB and 25 MP. Sume's GPT Image custom size tops out at 8,294,400 px (3840 edge), so file size, not megapixels, is what you hit.

A custom-size GPT Image render on Sume can never exceed Shopify's 25 megapixel limit, because Sume caps the output at 8,294,400 pixels (about 8.3 MP) with a longest edge of 3840. The limit that can still bite is Shopify's 20 MB file size, so choose the output format and quality with that in mind.
The two sets of limits
Shopify's limits are from its file upload help page (read 2026-10-08); the Sume limits are from the Images docs.
| Item | Shopify | Sume GPT Image custom size |
|---|---|---|
| Max file size | 20 MB | not a size field; choose format and quality |
| Max pixels | 25 MP | 8,294,400 px |
| Min pixels | not stated | 655,360 px |
| Max edge | not stated | 3840 px |
| Edge rule | aspect 100:1 to 1:100 | both edges multiples of 16; aspect at most 3:1 |
| Formats | JPEG, PNG, WEBP, HEIC, GIF | png, jpeg, webp via output_format |
Arithmetic
3840 x 2160 = 8,294,400, which is exactly the Sume maximum and about one third of Shopify's 25 MP (8.29 / 25 = 0.33). A square 2880 x 2880 is also 8,294,400. A request for 1920 x 1088 is allowed since both edges divide by 16 (1920 = 120 x 16, 1088 = 68 x 16), whereas 1920 x 1080 is not, because 1080 is not a multiple of 16.
- Pick the edges from multiples of 16.
- Request the lowest pixel count that your storefront theme needs; Shopify serves resized copies.
Keeping under 20 MB
Large photographic PNGs are the ones that can pass 20 MB. If a render does, set output_format to jpeg or webp, lower the pixel count, or run a compression pass before upload. Test one SKU before you batch a catalog; see Images for the parameters.
Practical sizes
For product photography, 2048 x 2048 (4,194,304 px) is within Sume's 655,360 to 8,294,400 range and a multiple of 16 on both edges (2048 = 128 x 16). It is about 4.2 MP, a sixth of Shopify's 25 MP ceiling. A 3:1 banner such as 3840 x 1280 is also allowed, since the maximum aspect ratio is 3:1 and both edges are multiples of 16 (1280 = 80 x 16).
Use the post-step only when you need exact pixels: the docs describe a documented post-step through job target_pixels for models that do not take custom sizes.
- 2048 x 2048 = 4,194,304 px: allowed.
- 3840 x 1280 = 4,915,200 px: allowed, aspect exactly 3:1.
- 4000 x 2000: not allowed, the edge exceeds 3840.
Before you scale
Shopify's page also says images can be JPEG, PNG, WEBP, HEIC or GIF. Sume's image output_format covers png, jpeg and webp, so the overlap is three formats. For a catalog upload, pick one format and keep it consistent so that product pages load predictably. The page was read on 2026-10-08, and Shopify can change limits, so re-check before a large upload.
Sources
Related posts
More in Comparisons
- Shopify's 5 recommended video ratios vs what each Sume model makes
Shopify recommends 16:9, 9:16, 4:3, 3:4 and 1:1. Seedance, MiniMax H3 and Wan 3.0 cover all five; Kling 3 lacks 4:3 and 3:4, and Gemini Omni Flash only has 2.
- Smallest video each ad platform accepts, and Sume's 256 px floor
Meta Facebook Feed needs 120 px, Instagram Feed 250 px wide, LinkedIn 360 px, TikTok 540x960. Sume trim and Timeline output cannot go below 256 px.
- Sora: 184 days' notice, no replacement. Veo previews: Omni named
OpenAI gave 184 days between its Sora notice and shutdown and named no replacement. Google's Veo 3.1 preview table names gemini-omni-1.1-flash.
- Speech-to-speech vs cascade: does 42% lower latency matter for video?
A newsletter reports speech-to-speech models run 42% lower latency than cascades. Why that helps live agents, not a narrated video, and what to measure.
Written by Sume