Reference limits in 2026 video models: Seedance, Wan, Omni, H3

Seedance 2.5 takes 30 images, 10 clips, 10 audio files per pass; Wan 3.0 up to 20 assets; Omni video refs of 3 s. H3 numbers and Sume's rows.

5 min readSume
All posts

Vendor pages for 2026 video models give very different reference limits: Seedance 2.5 lists up to 30 images, 10 video clips and 10 audio clips per pass, Wan 3.0 lists up to 20 reference assets, and Gemini Omni Flash 1.1 lists video references of up to 3 seconds. A third-party summary of MiniMax H3 lists 9 images, 3 videos and 3 audio clips.

What you can send through Sume is set by the catalog row, so read supported_input_references for the id before you design a brief around a vendor number.

What each vendor says

The ByteDance Seed page for Seedance 2.5 (read 2026-10-05) says a pass takes up to 30 images, 10 video clips and 10 audio clips, with up to 30 seconds per generation. The Wan 3.0 GitHub page (read 2026-10-05) lists up to 20 reference assets, including documents, webpages, text and images, native 30-second output and up to 12 sequential images with a cohesive style.

Google's Omni 1.1 Flash post (read 2026-10-05) lists video references of up to 3 seconds. The earlier Omni Flash release, per Google Cloud (read 2026-10-05), took up to 7 image references and up to 3 clips of 3 seconds or less.

MiniMax H3

MiniMax's own announcement (read 2026-10-05) describes reference across image, video and audio without stating counts. The counts of 9 images, 3 video clips and 3 audio clips come from a third-party summary on Hugging Face (read 2026-10-05), not from MiniMax, so treat them as a pointer. On Sume, the Video Router notes add one pricing fact: minimax-h3 charges $0.08 list per image after the fifth, $0.10 billed.

Reference limits as stated by each source (read 2026-10-05)
ModelImagesVideo clipsAudio clipsSource
Seedance 2.5301010ByteDance Seed
Wan 3.020 assets in total (mixed types)Not itemizedNot itemizedAlibaba GitHub
Gemini Omni Flash 1.1Not stated on the page readVideo refs up to 3 sNo audio ref on SumeGoogle
Gemini Omni Flash (first release)73 clips of 3 s or lessNot statedGoogle Cloud
MiniMax H3933Third-party summary

What Sume's catalog says

The Video Router docs describe the Omni 1.1 row as reference-to-video with up to 10 images and up to 3 clips of 3 seconds or less, addressed as <IMAGE_REF_0> and <VIDEO_REF_0>, and with no reference_audio_urls. Genjutsu takes 1 to 8 reference images and Recast 1 to 4 person photos. The kling-3 row has no reference_*_urls at all.

The docs for H3 and H3 Max say they accept image, video and audio references, and that the Seedance 2.x models and Wan 3.0 do too. They do not restate the vendor counts in the table, so a vendor limit is a ceiling, not a promise that Sume passes it through.

  • Design the brief for the smallest limit you must support.
  • Read supported_input_references for the exact id.
  • Ask for a cost quote before a large reference brief on minimax-h3, which adds $0.10 per image after the fifth.

Designing a brief around the smallest limit

If you plan to run the same brief on more than one model, count references to the smallest limit in play. A brief with 3 images and one 3-second video clip fits Omni 1.1 Flash, Wan 3.0, Seedance 2.5 and H3 alike, and avoids the extra per-image charge on minimax-h3. A brief with 12 images fits only the wider models, and you should check the row on Sume before you build it.

Reference audio is the narrowest capability. The Sume docs say Gemini Omni Flash 1.1 accepts image and video references but not audio, while H3, H3 Max, Wan 3.0 and the Seedance 2.x rows accept audio references. If your brief has a voice or music reference, that already removes Omni from the shortlist.

Sources

Related posts

More in Comparisons

All Comparisons posts

Written by Sume