Kling 4.0 Flash is first-frame only; what Sume's Kling 3 accepts
Kling 4.0 Flash early access takes a first-frame image, 20 s, 720p, SDR. Sume ships kling-3: 4 to 15 s, 720p/1080p, priced per second. Limits side by side.

Kling 4.0 Flash, in early access since September 28, is a narrower model than the Kling 4.0 headline suggests. fal's explainer describes it as 20 seconds at most, 720p, 8-bit SDR and first-frame image only, which is not full image-to-video (read 2026-10-04).
Sume does not list Kling 4.0. It ships kling-3: 4 to 15 seconds, 720p or 1080p, at $0.14 per second billed with audio off and $0.21 with audio on.
What does Kling 4.0 promise, and what is available now?
Kling's own announcement says the full launch comes in October, with 3 to 30 second clips, 4K output and a larger reference system. It lists 10-bit HDR as coming soon (read 2026-10-04). The Flash tier is the part people can use first, and it carries the limits above.
So the choice today is between an early-access tier with a first-frame input and a model that is routable now.
| Item | Kling 4.0 Flash (vendor and fal pages) | Sume kling-3 |
|---|---|---|
| Longest clip | 20 s | 15 s |
| Shortest clip | not stated on the pages read | 4 s |
| Resolution | 720p | 720p and 1080p |
| Image input | first frame only | first and last frame |
| Reference inputs | not stated on the pages read | none |
| Price | not read from a vendor page | $0.14 per s audio off, $0.21 audio on |
What does kling-3 take on Sume?
Kling 3 on Sume is text-to-video and image-to-video, with frame_images for a first frame and an optional last frame. It takes no reference images, videos or audio. Aspect ratios are 16:9, 9:16 and 1:1. The rate is not tiered by resolution, so 720p and 1080p cost the same per second.
A 5-second clip is $0.70 silent and $1.05 with audio.
Which Sume models take references if you need them?
If the shot needs a subject held steady, use a row that accepts input_references: Wan 3.0, the Seedance ids or the MiniMax rows. Read supported_input_references for the exact types each one takes before pinning.
- Need a clip longer than 15 seconds:
wan-3.0orseedance-2.5(30 seconds). - Need a last frame:
kling-3withframe_images. - Need image-to-video only, no audio, at 480p or 720p:
grok-imagine-video-1.5.
How do you send a first-frame request?
This pins kling-3 with a first frame. The image URL is read from the environment.
import os, requests
r = requests.post(
"https://api.sume.com/v1/videos",
headers={"Authorization": f"Bearer {os.environ['SUME_API_KEY']}"},
json={
"model": "kling-3",
"prompt": "The camera pushes in as the door opens",
"duration": 5,
"resolution": "1080p",
"frame_images": [{
"type": "image_url",
"image_url": {"url": os.environ["FIRST_FRAME_URL"]},
"frame_type": "first_frame",
}],
},
)
print(r.status_code, r.json())Sources
Related posts
More in Models
- Kling 4.0 Flash is 720p only: Sume models that reach 1080p and 4K
Kling 4.0 Flash early access outputs 720p, 3 to 20 seconds. If you need 1080p or 4K today, these Sume models take those resolutions, with the exact prices.
- Kling 4.0 Omni Reference takes 15 references; Sume limits compared
fal says Kling 4.0 Omni Reference accepts up to 15 references. On Sume, kling-3 takes none; Wan 3.0 and Gemini Omni Flash 1.1 publish their own limits.
- Lip sync with a hand over the mouth: sync-3 vs Fabric on Sume
Sync Labs says sync-3 handles obstructions on faces. Sume's lip-sync routes start from a still plus audio. What each takes as input and what is promised.
- Luma's 2026 timeline: Ray3.14, Ray3.2, Scenes and Variants
Luma shipped Ray3.14 in January, Ray3.2 in June, Scenes in August and Variants on Oct 1, 2026. What each added, and why to pin model ids.
Written by Sume