Sume Auto or a pinned model for repeatable image edits?
With sume/auto the response echoes sume/auto and never names the family that ran. For edits you must reproduce, pin a catalog id such as openai/gpt-image-2.5.

OpenAI's Images 2.5 thread says ChatGPT automatically selects the Flare variant for routine prompts and escalates to Sunburst for complex requests that need precise text or intricate layouts (OpenAI Developer Community, read 2026-10-04). Routing like that is convenient inside a chat app. For an edit you must be able to repeat next month, convenience is the problem.
What Sume Auto does and does not tell you
The Image API docs describe model: "sume/auto" as the way to let the Image Router choose. The response echoes the id you requested, so sume/auto stays sume/auto, and the job model stays sume/auto. The catalog never lists Auto as a row. Sume does not disclose which family served an Auto request.
| Question | model: sume/auto | model: a catalog id |
|---|---|---|
| Which family served it? | Not disclosed | The one you named |
| Response model field | sume/auto | The id you sent |
| Reproduce an old edit | No guarantee of the same family | Same id, same family |
| Price known up front | Estimated | Read the endpoint pricing for that id |
When to use which
Sume lists openai/gpt-image-2.5 and openai/gpt-image-2.5-sunburst as separate ids, so a pinned request also picks the variant. Choose Sunburst only if you tested that it helps on your layouts.
- Exploring, with no need to repeat the result: Auto is fine, and on MCP omitting the model routes to it.
- A brand look you will repeat, an A/B test or a cost comparison: pin the id.
- A support complaint about one image: you can only answer it if you pinned, or logged, the request.
Pin it in the request
Send this to POST /v1/images. Log the model id with the result so the pin is on record.
{
"model": "openai/gpt-image-2.5",
"prompt": "Swap the headline to \"Autumn Sale\" and keep the layout",
"input_references": [
{"type": "image_url", "image_url": {"url": "https://example.com/layout.png"}}
],
"aspect_ratio": "auto"
}Sources
Related posts
More in Models
- Suno v6 licence deals: Warner, BMG, Believe, with dates to log
Suno v6 was announced Sept 9, 2026 after deals with Warner (Nov 25, 2025) and BMG (Aug 12, 2026), with Believe named as a partner. What to log for an ad file.
- Three image edits at once or one by one? Cost and drift on Sume
FLUX 3 Image edits several boxes in one pass. On Sume, one prompt with three numbered changes costs one edit; three chained edits cost three and can drift.
- Tidal stopped paying wholly AI tracks: what a video score is
Tidal stopped paying royalties on wholly AI tracks on July 15, 2026. What that means for a video soundtrack, and how Sume's Music Router fits.
- Trending TikTok metadata to a Seedance 2.5 clip
Sume's trending-videos search returns TikTok metadata for $0.10 a call, not video files. Use it to write a brief, then render an original Seedance 2.5 clip.
Written by Sume