Recraft Studio plan includes all models: when per-image billing wins
Recraft says every model in Studio is included in its standard plans. That is a seat model; Sume bills each completed image to a wallet. Which suits you?

Recraft's Studio page says no separate subscriptions are required and all listed models are included in its standard plans, with a free trial and no credit card. That is a plan model for people working in an editor; Sume's Image API instead bills each completed generation to a wallet, so pick the plan for hands-on design sessions and the per-image API for code and automation.
The Studio claims come from AI Image & Video Models in Recraft Studio, read 2026-10-02. The Sume side comes from the Image API billing section.
What does Recraft Studio list as included?
The page lists Recraft V4, Nano Banana, Flux, GPT Image, Ideogram, Imagen, Seedream, Qwen Image, HiDream and Grok Image for images, plus video models such as Sora, Kling, Veo, Seedance and Wan that are reachable from its canvas. It says all models are included in standard plans and a free trial needs no credit card. The page does not state plan prices or credit allowances, so this post does not quote any.
How does Sume bill an image?
The Image API page describes billing as all-or-nothing. A generation either completes and is billed in full, or it fails and is not billed. Failed or cancelled generations are not billed, and a client that disconnects early is billed as a failed generation, meaning not at all. Endpoint pricing lines are the amount charged to your wallet with Sume's margin already applied, so cost_usd x n is what you pay.
Funds run out as a 402 insufficient_credits, listed in the Errors and credits page as a balance that is not sufficient for the requested generation.
| Question | Recraft Studio page | Sume Image API |
|---|---|---|
| Unit of billing | Plan; no separate subscriptions per model | Per completed image, from the catalog pricing line |
| Models reachable | Ten image families listed in the editor | Catalog ids from GET /v1/images/models |
| Failure cost | Not stated on the page | Not billed |
| Interface | Canvas editor | HTTP API, jobs, webhooks |
| Plan prices on the page | Not stated | Not applicable; wallet balance |
Which one fits which job?
A designer iterating on layout in a canvas benefits from not watching a meter, which is the point of a plan. A pipeline that makes 40 product shots on a Tuesday and none on Wednesday benefits from paying per completed image and from having the cost in usage.cost on every response. Neither is cheaper in general; it depends on volume, and you should compute it with your own numbers.
You can do the arithmetic from the live catalog: list a model's endpoint record, read pricing[0].cost_usd, and multiply by images per month. For how list prices turn into Sume prices see list times 1.25.
curl "https://api.sume.com/v1/images/models/recraft/recraft-v4/endpoints" \
-H "Authorization: Bearer $SUME_API_KEY"What about the Recraft API itself?
Recraft's API is billed separately from Studio plans in the posts we have already published; for its units and the Flash price see Recraft API pricing. This post only compares Studio's plan page with Sume's wallet billing.
A quick way to decide
This is a framing post, not a price comparison: Recraft's page gave no plan prices, so we compare billing shapes, not totals.
- Count the images you will generate this month and multiply by the catalog price of the model you would use.
- Add the hours a person spends in an editor; a plan page cannot price your time.
- If the work is repeatable and scripted, per-image billing gives a cost line per job in usage.cost.
- If the work is exploratory design, a plan with many models in one canvas may be the calmer choice.
Sources
Related posts
More in Pricing
- Recraft vector price: $0.08 per SVG image vs $0.04 raster
On Recraft's price page, V3 Vector is $0.08 per image against $0.04 for V3 raster, and vectorizing an existing image is $0.01 per request. See the full table.
- Reference ingest cost: free manifest, STT only if speech is heard
Sume reference ingest reads a clip of up to 300 seconds into shots, OCR and audio facts for free; transcription bills $0.01 a minute only if speech is detected.
- Reference ingest transcript: allow_billed_stt and skipped STT
Reference ingest only bills a transcript when you opt in and the clip has speech. What allow_billed_stt reserves and what the stt_skipped warnings mean.
- Replicate throttles harder when credit drops below $20: Sume 402
Replicate tightens limits as credit falls and advises keeping $20. Sume refuses a job with 402 insufficient_credits before provider work starts.
Written by Sume