OpusClip Starter $15 vs Sume trim plus caption at $0.22 a clip

A Sume trim ($0.02) plus caption ($0.20) costs $0.22 per short clip, so $15 buys 68 clips. OpusClip Starter is $15 a month. What the numbers do and do not say.

4 min readSume
All posts

On Sume, one trimmed and captioned short clip costs $0.02 for the trim plus $0.20 for the caption, so $0.22, and $15 covers 68 of them. OpusClip Starter costs $15 a month, but the page I fetched does not state how many clips or credits that includes, so I cannot give a per-clip price for OpusClip. What I can do is price the Sume side exactly and list what each product does for that money.

The Sume math

The video trim page lists a public rate of $0.02 per job with no provider inference, only ffmpeg. The caption page lists $0.20 per accepted standalone job for a video of up to 60 seconds. Chaining the two is $0.22. Total for 30 clips is $6.60, for 100 clips $22.00.

Sume cost for trimmed and captioned clips, prices from Sume docs (read 2026-10-08)
ClipsTrim at $0.02Caption at $0.20TotalOpusClip Starter
10$0.20$2.00$2.20$15 per month, credits not stated on page
30$0.60$6.00$6.60$15 per month, credits not stated on page
68$1.36$13.60$14.96$15 per month, credits not stated on page
100$2.00$20.00$22.00$15 per month, credits not stated on page

What is and is not in the OpusClip price

The page lists Starter at $15, Pro at $29, media that expires after 29 days on Starter, and API and MCP access only on Pro and above. It names no clip count on Starter in the text I got. Do not assume OpusClip's number is more or less than 68; read the plan details in the app before comparing.

Steps: run the Sume chain

  • Import the long video with POST /v1/media-imports.
  • POST /v1/video-trim with start and duration, and an Idempotency-Key.
  • Check whether the trimmed artifact URL can be fetched by the caption job; the caption docs ask for a public HTTPS video URL, so test one clip first.
  • POST /v1/video-captions for the result and store the output.
curl -X POST https://api.sume.com/v1/video-trim \
  -H "Authorization: Bearer $SUME_API_KEY" \
  -H "Content-Type: application/json" \
  -H "Idempotency-Key: trim-001" \
  -d '{"video_url":"https://media.sume.com/artifacts/artf_demo/talk.mp4","start":2,"duration":8}'

What Sume does not do

Sume does not find the best 30 seconds. You, or an agent reading a transcript from video_inspect, choose start and end. The $0.22 buys a cut and captions, not an editorial decision.

Cost of a failed clip

On Sume the money at risk per clip is small. The trim is $0.02 and the caption job is $0.20, and a caption on a silent clip fails with caption_no_speech instead of burning an empty render. The docs say failed jobs refund the reserve. Pre-check a clip with video_inspect to see if it has speech before paying for the caption. With a subscription product the equivalent protection is a refund policy you have to read, not a price you can calculate.

Free-tier conflict on the vendor side

OpusClip's pricing page lists a Free tier, but I could not confirm its credit allowance from the page text, and pages elsewhere on the site may say different things. That is why this post prices only the Sume side to the cent and leaves the OpusClip clip count blank. If you are comparing, open your OpusClip account and read the credits shown there.

Verdict

If the cut points are known, $0.22 per clip is a clear price. If you want a product to find them, you are buying that discovery from OpusClip.

Sources

Related posts

More in Pricing

All Pricing posts

Written by Sume