Eleven v4 or Sonic 3.6 for ad voiceover through an API
Eleven v4 lists $0.022 per 1K characters, Sonic 3.6 $0.038 at list. Sume serves Sonic 3.6 only, at list x1.25. Here is how to pick for ad reads.

Pick on a listening test of your own scripts, not on a price table. On list price, Eleven v4 is cheaper per character ($0.022 per 1K characters, in a promo through Oct 12) than Cartesia Sonic at list ($0.038 per 1K). On reach, Eleven v4 claims 90+ languages and Sonic-3.6 claims 44. If you build on Sume, the choice is narrower: Sume serves Cartesia Sonic only, so Eleven v4 means calling ElevenLabs directly.
Both vendors publish blind-test claims (Eleven: about 75% listener preference; Cartesia: up to 93% in head-to-head tests). They are vendor-run with different baselines, so they cannot be compared with each other. Treat them as a reason to run your own test.
What each vendor states
| Item | Eleven v4 | Cartesia Sonic-3.6 |
|---|---|---|
| Launch | Sept 28, 2026 | Aug 27, 2026 |
| Languages | 90+ | 44 languages, 61 locales |
| Voices | 17,500+ voices | 500+ preset voices |
| Per-request text | Up to 10,000 characters per generation | Not stated on the pages read |
| List price | $0.022 per 1K characters (72% off until Oct 12) | $38 per 1M credits on overage at Scale; 1 credit = 1 character |
| Audio per credit | Not stated | One minute of audio takes 750-800 credits |
| Latency claim | v4 Turbo: about 150ms median time to first speech | Replies under 90ms to first audio |
What a 30-second ad read costs
Cartesia states that a minute of audio takes 750-800 credits, one credit per character. That rate is applied to both vendors as an assumption, because Eleven publishes no characters-per-minute figure on the pages read. A 30-second read is then 375-400 characters.
The Sume line is Sonic list x1.25 = $0.038 x 1.25 = $0.0475 per 1K characters. Sume rounds each job up to the cent, and a 5.5% platform fee applies to customer spend on top (Sume operations pricing policy, live since 2026-09-22).
| Route | Per 1K characters | 375 characters | 400 characters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Eleven v4 (promo price) | $0.022 | $0.00825 | $0.0088 |
| Sonic at Cartesia list | $0.038 | $0.01425 | $0.0152 |
| Sonic-3.6 via Sume (list x1.25, before fee) | $0.0475 | $0.0178, billed as $0.02 after cent rounding | $0.019, billed as $0.02 after cent rounding |
Calling Sonic-3.6 through Sume
The TTS Router takes a required model (sonic-3.6, sonic-3.5, sonic-3, sonic-latest, sonic-preview), a transcript of 1 to 20,000 characters, and a voice selector. It is an async job: submit, then poll /v1/jobs/:id/status and read /v1/jobs/:id/result. The voice.id below is a placeholder for a voice you own.
curl -X POST https://api.sume.com/v1/tts-router/generate \
-H "Authorization: Bearer $SUME_API_KEY" \
-H "Content-Type: application/json" \
-H "Idempotency-Key: ad-read-001" \
-d '{
"model": "sonic-3.6",
"transcript": "Fresh coffee, ready in thirty seconds.",
"voice": { "id": "YOUR_VOICE_UUID" },
"language": "en"
}'How to decide
- Need audio tags, 90+ languages or voices beyond Sonic: use Eleven v4 from ElevenLabs. Sume does not ship it.
- Need one managed pipeline (voice, receipts, billing, avatars) with Sonic: use the Sume TTS Router.
- Either way, render the same three real scripts on both and have a native listener compare them before you commit a campaign.
Sources
Related posts
More in Comparisons
- ElevenLabs Ads Engine localizes ads in 50+ languages; what Sume covers
Ads Engine pulls ads from Google, Meta and LinkedIn and localizes them. Sume has no ad-account link, but burns translated captions at $0.20 a language.
- ElevenLabs Lip Sync at 480p or 720p vs Sume's lip-sync routes
ElevenLabs' lip-sync tool takes a chest-up portrait plus speech, with 480p or 720p output. Sume has Fabric and H3 Max lip-sync by the second. How they differ.
- ElevenLabs Music 'Commercial, no streaming': what an ad can use
ElevenLabs lists Starter as 'Commercial, no streaming' and Creator as 'Commercial, not enterprise'. What its terms exclude: film, TV, radio, and Studio Games.
- ElevenLabs-UMG vs Suno-Warner: licensed AI music models compared
ElevenLabs signed a multi-year deal with UMG on Sept 10; Suno shipped v6 on licensed data a day earlier. What each side has said and what is still unreleased.
Written by Sume