Which tool exports 4K: Descript, Kapwing, HeyGen, Runway or Sume
4K is a plan tier at Descript, Kapwing and HeyGen. Sume gates it by request: 4K video via sume/auto, timeline edges capped at 2160, avatar video at 720p.

If you need a 4K file, the answer depends on what kind of file. Descript, Kapwing and HeyGen each list 4K on a paid tier of their pricing page, so for editing or presenter video you pay the tier. Sume does not sell 4K as a plan: it is a request field on AI video generation, and the other Sume surfaces stop lower. Runway lists a studio-grade tier but its page does not use the word 4K.
The table below keeps every cell to what each page says on 2026-10-08. A blank "not stated" means the page did not say, not that the feature is absent.
| Tool | Lowest tier that lists 4K | What the page says |
|---|---|---|
| Descript | Creator, $24/month | 4K watermark-free export; Hobbyist is 1080p watermark-free; Free is 720p with watermark |
| Kapwing | Pro, $24/month | 4K, no watermark, 120-minute export; Free is 720p with watermark |
| HeyGen | Pro, $49/month | Up to 4K; Creator ($29) and Free are listed up to 1080p |
| Runway | Not stated | Max ($76/month billed annually) lists "HDR, ProRes, image sequences"; the page text I read does not give a pixel size |
| Sume AI video | No tier | Video 1.0 says 4K goes through POST /v1/videos with model sume/auto; the legacy URL rejects 4k |
Where Sume stops lower
Two Sume surfaces matter if you were hoping for a UHD pipeline. Timeline 1.0 accepts output width and height as even integers from 256 to 2160, so a 3840 by 2160 render is outside what the doc allows; the default output is 1080 by 1920. Avatar video lists resolution 720p at this time. If your deliverable is a 4K talking-head, HeyGen Pro is the only tool in this set whose page promises it.
- Timeline 1.0: output edges 256 to 2160, default 1080 by 1920 (read from the doc, 2026-10-08).
- Avatar video: aspect ratios 1:1, 3:4, 9:16, 4:3, 16:9; resolution 720p.
- Video 1.0 (legacy URL): 720p default and 1080p; "This URL rejects 4k".
Where Sume goes higher
For generated clips, Sume documents 4K as a request-time choice. The Video generation page says Gemini Omni Flash 1.1 accepts 3 to 10 seconds at 360p, 720p, 1080p and 4K in 16:9 or 9:16, You pick resolution per call and pay the job price from a USD balance, so a single 4K clip does not need a $49 or $76 plan.
Because the price depends on the model and resolution, read it from the catalog rather than from a blog post: GET /v1/videos/models returns the supported resolutions and pricing SKUs for each id.
How to pick
Choose by the file you hand to a client. A long edited video in 4K: Descript Creator or Kapwing Pro, both at $24 a month on their pages. A 4K presenter: HeyGen Pro at $49. A single high-end generated shot: Runway Max if you want its HDR and ProRes options, or a Sume 4K request if one clip is all you need this month.
Pairing also works. Generate the clip in 4K through Sume, then finish it in an editor that exports 4K. The Sume timeline is the part that should stay at 1080 or below.
Sources
Related posts
More in Comparisons
- Korean burned-in captions in a CapCut style: Sume Hangul styles
Sume burns Korean captions with six Hangul styles and 29 open-license fonts at $0.20 per clip up to 60 seconds. Latin styles reject Korean with a 400.
- Within 30 Elo of Wan 3.0 for less: MiniMax H3 and H3 Max on Sume
MiniMax H3 (1,137) and H3 Max (1,130) sit 19 and 26 Elo behind Wan 3.0 on the AA board. Sume bills $4.50 and $6.00 a minute at 768p; Wan is $7.50 at 720p.
- Zoom deepfake risk detection: what it means for avatar video
Zoom lists real-time alerts for synthetic audio or video next to meeting avatars. What the page says, what it leaves open, and how to label a Sume clip.
- Sume vs Argil: AI avatar video and video agents compared
Argil makes AI-avatar and story videos with a chat agent, Director; Sume is a video agent with a multi-model API. Avatars, API, pricing, and limits compared.
Written by Sume