Resolve 21 UltraSharpen and Motion Deblur vs an upscale API

Resolve 21 adds UltraSharpen and Motion Deblur. Sume's video upscale API takes 1 to 30 seconds, a 1.1 to 4 factor and a fast, standard or pro tier.

5 min readSume
All posts

DaVinci Resolve 21 lists UltraSharpen and Motion Deblur among its new image tools. If you want to upscale a short clip without opening an editor, Sume's video upscale route takes a video_url, an upscale_factor from 1.1 to 4, and an enhancement_tier of fast, standard or pro, for clips of 1 to 30 seconds. It is a hosted route for short clips, not a replacement for a grading suite.

Different jobs

Resolve's tools are features of an editing and grading application; a hosted upscale is a single operation on a finished clip. The request body fields come from Sume's API contract: video_url, upscale_factor, scale_ratio, duration_seconds and enhancement_tier. Pricing is per input second, so cost grows with clip length, and the route stops at 30 seconds. Public documentation is the OpenAPI reference and the video_upscale_create MCP tool; rates should be read from GET /v1/catalog.

Resolve 21 tools compared with the Sume route, read 2026-10-03
QuestionResolve 21Sume video upscale
Where it runsInside the Resolve gradeHosted API call
SharpeningUltraSharpenNot a separate control
Motion blurMotion DeblurNot a separate control
Scale controlNot stated on the pageupscale_factor 1.1 to 4
Quality choiceNot stated on the pagefast, standard or pro tier
Clip lengthTimeline1 to 30 seconds

Working around the 30-second cap

Split a long video with the trim route into pieces of 30 seconds or less, upscale each, then join them on a Timeline 1.0 render with the fit you need. That multiplies the job count and cost, and cut points can show if the upscaler changes appearance between pieces, so cut on scene changes where you can.

Honest limits

  • Sume does not offer a deblur or sharpen-only control; the upscale is the operation.
  • No video background removal and no HDR or tone-mapping documentation exists, so grade first and deliver SDR.
  • The Blackmagic page lists the feature names but not how they compare to any other upscaler; no quality claim is made here.

Sources

Related posts

More in Media tools

All Media tools posts

Written by Sume