Knowledge cutoff for a trend-research agent: Astra Apr 30 vs Haiku Jun
GPT-6 Astra's cutoff is Apr 30, 2026; Claude Haiku 5.5's is Jun 2026. A video agent researching this week's trends needs tools either way. Sume lists both.

Short answer
GPT-6 Astra's knowledge cutoff is April 30, 2026, per the OpenAI model page read on 2026-10-08. Claude Haiku 5.5's reliable knowledge cutoff and training data cutoff are both June 2026, per Anthropic's models overview. Both are months before this week's launches, so an agent asked what is trending in short video on October 8 cannot answer from model memory with either. Z.ai's pricing page and the Mistral Large 4 page do not state a cutoff, so no claim is made for those.
Sume lists Haiku 5.5 and Astra in its registry, which gives you a choice, but the cutoff difference is about two months and rarely decides anything for a research task.
The comparison
Cutoffs are vendor statements. Sume does not add its own.
| Model | Knowledge cutoff | Context window | Max output |
|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-6 Astra | Apr 30, 2026 | 1,050,000 tokens | 128,000 tokens |
| Claude Haiku 5.5 | Jun 2026 (reliable and training) | 1M tokens | 128K tokens |
| Mistral Large 4 preview | Not stated on the page | 1M tokens | Not stated |
| GLM 5.3 Flash | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated | Not stated |
What fills the gap
For anything dated after the cutoff, the agent has to read it from a tool: a web page, a reference video, a platform's rules. Sume's agent has tools and a sandbox, per the Agent Completions docs, and attachments accept up to 30 images. Put the facts that matter, such as a platform's current clip length limit, in the instruction or in input; the docs say Sume writes input to /workspace/inputs/sume-action-input.json and treats it as data, not instructions.
Dated claims are where a stale cutoff hurts: new model names, price changes, and platform rules.
Practical rule
Choose by cost and latency, not cutoff. Haiku 5.5 is Anthropic's fastest listed model and about 100 times cheaper per turn than Astra at the shapes in the related posts. Choose Astra when the planning is hard, and give either one the current facts.
A tiny prompt pattern
One reliable way to deal with cutoffs is to state today's date and the facts that depend on it. The instruction can say: 'Today is 2026-10-08. Platform rules below are current. Do not rely on memory for anything dated after April 2026.' That costs a few dozen tokens and removes a failure mode that no model choice fixes.
For a trend agent, also give it the sources to read, not just a topic. A reference clip or a page URL the agent fetches is better evidence than either model's memory, and the two cutoffs differ by about two months, which is smaller than the lag between a trend appearing and appearing in any training data.
Because the cutoffs are stated by the vendors and the difference is about two months, I would not choose between the two models on this basis alone. The price gap per turn is far larger than any freshness advantage, and the instruction pattern above closes most of the freshness gap anyway. Where freshness really matters, such as a platform that changed its upload limits last month, the answer is to fetch the current page and pass the limits in as data, whichever model you run.
- State the date in the instruction.
- Pass platform limits in
input; Sume treats it as data. - Attach up to 30 images as visual references.
Sources
Related posts
More in Models
- LTX-2.5 license changed Aug 11, 2026: what differs from January
The August 11, 2026 LTX-2.x license adds a Non-Commercial carve-out, a current-version clause and provenance duties. What both texts say, side by side.
- LTX-2.5 quick start downloads 66 GiB: the five files and a disk plan
The LTX-2 README quick start pulls about 66 GiB for five LTX-2.5 files, including a 12B Gemma text encoder. What to budget, and what Sume lists instead.
- Mac or Windows team: which open video models need Linux and CUDA?
HunyuanVideo and HunyuanVideo-1.5 list Linux; LTX-2.5's fastest decoder is Linux plus CUDA; H3 has a Mac route. What each page says and a hosted option.
- MAI-Transcribe-2: 60 languages, 17 more than 1.5, and the Sume hint
Microsoft lists 60 languages for MAI-Transcribe-2, 43 for MAI-Transcribe-1.5, so 17 new ones. Sume STT takes a language_code hint or auto-detects.
Written by Sume