Flow Agent picks the image model for you: Sume's sume/auto does too
Flow's Agent routes image requests to the best model automatically. Sume's sume/auto does too but never says which family ran; pin an id for a matched series.

Flow has two ways to make an image: the Agent, which routes your request to the best image model, or the standard prompt box where you choose the model yourself, with Nano Banana Pro as the default (read 2026-10-02). Sume has the same split. sume/auto lets Sume pick a family and never tells you which; a catalog id such as google/nano-banana-pro pins it.
Flow's two paths
Flow's help page says you can use the Google Flow Agent, which automatically routes requests to the best image model, or the standard prompt box with manual model selection (Flow Help, read 2026-10-02). The page does not say which models the Agent can choose from.
| Path | Who picks the model | Default |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Flow, automatically | Not stated |
| Standard prompt box | You | Nano Banana Pro |
Sume's two paths
Send model: "sume/auto" to POST /v1/images and Sume picks the family. It is not listed in GET /v1/images/models, the job model stays sume/auto, and the family that ran is not disclosed (Image API). Send a catalog id instead, for example google/nano-banana-pro, and that is the model that runs.
When automatic routing is a poor fit
A set of images that must look like one family, such as a product line or a character sheet, needs one model. Auto may route two requests differently, and Sume tells you nothing you can build on about which one ran. For a series, pin the id and keep your reference images identical across calls; input_references takes up to 10 on that model.
When automatic is fine
For a single throwaway visual or a first draft where any decent result will do, Auto saves the model research. It also keeps working when the catalog changes, since you named no id that can be retired.
Check the response: usage.cost is the amount billed, so a pinned versus Auto comparison on your own prompts costs little and shows which you prefer.
Sources
Related posts
More in Models
- Flow offers Omni at 360p and 720p; the API lists 1080p and 4K
Flow's help page shows Gemini Omni Flash 1.1 at 360p and 720p; the Gemini API and Sume list 1080p and 4K too. Which one to use depends on the output you ship.
- Flow Veo 3.1 Quality has no ingredients: references on Sume Omni
In Flow, Veo 3.1 Quality takes text and frames only, while Fast and Lite take ingredients. Sume's reference-to-video runs on Omni with up to 10 images.
- FLUX.2 takes 8 references by API, 10 in Playground: Sume's range
Black Forest Labs says FLUX.2 pro, max and flex take up to 8 references by API (10 in its Playground), klein 4. Sume's input_references range is read per model.
- flux-2-pro-preview vs flux-2-pro: which id does Sume send?
BFL has flux-2-pro-preview (latest) and flux-2-pro (fixed snapshot). Sume lists black-forest-labs/flux.2-pro and does not let you pick the BFL endpoint.
Written by Sume