AI presenter video tools: 5 questions when a vendor has no price
Tavus's Griffin-Lite has no public price and only trusted testers. Five questions to ask any AI presenter vendor before you plan around a preview.

If you are choosing an AI presenter video tool this week, do not plan a launch around a research preview. Tavus announced Griffin-Lite on October 1, 2026 as a research preview available only to select trusted testers, and its own page discloses no pricing (read 2026-10-03). Ask any vendor five things first: who can use it today, what it costs, how long a clip can be, how you reach it programmatically, and what happens when a job fails.
The announcement is interesting, and it is a real step for real-time video conversation. But 'AI presenter video' as a buyer query usually means something simpler: a person on screen reading your script, delivered as a file. For that, what matters is availability and rate cards, not a latency headline.
What Tavus says, and does not say
According to Tavus's Griffin page, Griffin is a Human Interaction Model that perceives, decides and generates speech and video at the same time, and Griffin-Lite is the research-preview version. The page reports 0.43 seconds average audio-to-video latency on H100 GPUs, a company-run test where 48% of 54 participants believed they were speaking to a real person after one-minute calls, and scores on NVIDIA's VideoFDB benchmark. It says Griffin-Lite remains unavailable for general customers, gives no pricing, and anticipates releasing Griffin 'very soon after these safety concerns are addressed'.
Those are the vendor's own figures, and the test was company-run. They tell you the technology is advancing; they do not tell you what to budget or when you can call it.
The five questions, answered for Sume
Here is the same checklist applied to what Sume documents today, so you can compare like with like. Sume does not offer a real-time two-way video model; it generates script-driven avatar videos as asynchronous jobs.
| Question | Sume Avatar 1.0 | Griffin-Lite |
|---|---|---|
| Who can use it today? | Anyone with an API key and balance | Select trusted testers only (Tavus page) |
| What does it cost? | Avatar creation $0.95; video $0.184 to $0.55 per second by tier | No pricing disclosed (Tavus page) |
| How long is a clip? | 4 to 60 seconds per job | Not stated for Griffin-Lite |
| How do I call it? | POST /v1/avatar-1.0/talking-video, then poll the job | Not generally available |
| What if it fails? | Job status and public error metadata, retry with the same Idempotency-Key | Not stated |
A sensible way to proceed
Ship with what you can call now, and keep the preview on a watch list. Script-driven clips are fine for announcements, onboarding, product explainers and personalised outreach, where nobody needs to talk back. If your use case truly needs a live conversation, a preview is the right thing to track but not the right thing to depend on.
Run a small test before you commit: render three or four clips with different scripts and tiers, read the spend from your usage, and decide with your own footage in hand. The preview-first workflow lets you approve first frames before paying for the full render.
- Write down your dealbreakers (length, language, real-time, disclosure) before demos.
- Never evaluate on vendor demo reels; evaluate on your script.
- Re-read the vendor page on the day you sign, because preview terms change.
Why a headline metric is not a buying criterion
A latency figure such as 0.43 seconds describes a real-time system answering a person. It does not describe the thing most presenter buyers need, which is a finished, branded clip that arrives in a predictable time at a predictable price. Sume's avatar jobs are asynchronous: you submit, the job is queued and processed under your workspace's concurrency, and you fetch a file. The relevant numbers for planning are the per-second rate, the 4 to 60 second window, and your plan's queue capacity, all documented.
Likewise, a Turing-test percentage is a statement about deception, not quality for your purpose. If your viewers should know they are watching an AI presenter, a vendor's claim that people cannot tell is a reason for extra care with disclosure, not a feature to advertise.
A one-hour evaluation plan
At 15 seconds each, three Standard clips cost $8.28 plus $0.95 for the avatar. That is a small price for a decision based on your own material.
- Minute 0 to 10: write three scripts from real content you plan to publish.
- Minute 10 to 20: create one avatar and render all three on Standard, which is the fastest path.
- Minute 20 to 40: re-render the best on Plus or Max and compare.
- Minute 40 to 60: read your usage and balance, compute cost per published second, and decide.
Sources
Related posts
More in Comparisons
- AI spokesperson vs UGC creator for ads: how to choose
Pick an AI spokesperson for repeatable scripts, demos and hook tests; a human creator for first-person reviews. Decision guide with Sume's limits and costs.
- Lighting and palette prompts: Sora guide vs Omni guide compared
OpenAI's Sora guide names light and three to five color anchors; Google's Omni guide says to name light source and quality. A side by side and one Sume prompt.
- AI video Turing test: how to read Griffin's 48% study
Tavus says 48% of 54 people took Griffin for a real person after a one-minute call. What the study shows, and how to disclose AI in clips you render.
- Amazon's 'up to 71% more product coverage': count your own SKUs
Amazon says its AI creative tools gave up to 71% more product coverage and up to 15% sales growth. Count your own SKUs with video before and after instead.
Written by Sume